Calendars

Follow

Contents

Calendars will allow you to change the owners, collaborators, and sharing settings of a single calendar or multiple calendars at a time. You can also export all of the calendars to a spreadsheet view, which displays the Title, Description, Owners Emails, Type, Exposure, Location and Time Zone.

On the Calendar page you can,

  1. View the type of each calendar as either a Primary or Secondary
  2. Filter calendars by multiple criteria to more easily find what you are looking for.
  3. Export calendars to spreadsheet.
    1. Displays the Title, Description, Owners Emails, Calendar Type, Location, as well as the Timezone used for the calendar.
  4. View the title, owner, type and status of each calendar.

Calendar Filters

By clicking on Filter you will bring up the ability to sort the calendar list by the following:

  • Owned by user - By selecting this you can view and sort the calendars by users.
  • Calendar name - BetterCloud will automatically sort the list of calendars by calendar name.
  • Shared with* - You can view all calendars either shared with a specific email address or a whole domain (e.g. @gmail.com)
  • Calendar type - Choose if you want to view Primary or Secondary calendars
  • Exposure - You are able to sort the calendars on your domain by exposure level

Calendar Status Icon Descriptions

  • Public - Anyone on the Internet can find and access the Site.
  • Public with a link - It’s an unlisted Site that’s not likely to show up in search results, but it is accessible to anyone on the Internet who knows the link
  • External - Users can invite people outside the organization to view and edit their Site.
  • Only Domain - Site created in your organization are searchable and viewable to everyone in your organization.
  • Only Domain with link - Anyone in your organization can access the document, but only if they know the URL. This is like an unlisted phone number where only people who know your number can call you.
  • Private - Sites aren’t accessible to anyone other than the owner and the people to whom the owner explicitly gives access.

Once you select a specific calendar you are given three main functions.

  1. Sharing - You can also alter the sharing settings of the calendars by either sharing them with the domain, the public, or restricting all access to make the calendar private.
  2. Scheduling - You are able to view the next four days of events on the individuals calendar. If nothing is listed you will receive a “There are no events scheduled for this calendar.”
  3. Details - This tab lists the Calendar ID, the name, location, time zone and description of each calendar.

Sharing

You are able to share the calendar of an individual or group by selecting the calendar. Next step is to enter in an email address of either a user or group you would like to share the calendar with. You can select the access level for the new user through the drop down, to the right of where you entered in the email address. The four options for access are:

  1. See availability (hide details) - This is the most restricted access level and only allows the new user to see if the availability of the shared calendar.
  2. View events - Allows the user to see the availability and events on the calendar.
  3. Edit events - Allows the user to edit the events on the calendar, view the event details.
  4. Full control - Gives the user full control over the shared calendar.

Domain Wide Sharing

As a super admin you will also be able to select domain wide calendar sharing settings. Select the checkbox next to “Name” and you will be given the option to “Select All,” which will now allow you to change the sharing settings for all the calendars currently on your domain. By clicking on the drop down you will be given an option to Change Sharing Settings. Once you click on sharing settings you are able to:

  1. Make calendars private - Makes calendar private
  2. Share with ______@domain.com - Make the resource available only to those users on your domain
    • Show only free/busy - Show the calendar to those on your domain but restrict it to either busy or free.
    • Show full event details - Show the calendar and all event details but keep it restricted to users on your domain.
  3. Share with public - Allow the calendar to be shared externally to people outside of your domain.
    • Show only free/busy - Allow the calendar to be shared externally but restrict it to either busy or free.
    • Show full event details - Allow the calender to be shared externally and allow all event information to be shared as well.

Resource Tab

Clicking on the resource tab will bring up the following screen. From this page you will be access and pull data related to the resources currently in your office. From this page you will be able to:

  1. Create a new resource - Add a new resource to your domain.
  2. Filter - Filter resources by Resource Name, Shared With, Exposure, Resource Type, and Utilization
  3. Export to a spreadsheet - Export all resources to a spreadsheet in Google Drive
  4. Select an individual resource
  5. Select all resources - Selecting the box and then “Select All” will select all resources within your domain.
  6. Change sharing permissions - Edit permissions for selected resources.

Creating a resource

We recommend using the advanced method as we’ve created best practices to make it easy for your customers to use:

  1. City - Where the resource is located
  2. Building
  3. Floor or location
  4. Resource name
    1. Resources name
    2. Resource type
  5. Resource details
    1. Amenities
    2. Resource description

Filtering resources

By clicking on the “Filter” button you will be able to filter resources based on:

  • Resource name
  • Shared with*
  • Exposure
  • Resource type
  • Utilization*

* Utilization is based off the number of hours the resource is used (X) throughout the course of a standard forty hour work week. < Utilization = ( X hours / 40 ) * 100 >

You are also able to export all resources to a spreadsheet for an easily accessible and manageable list.

Selecting a resource

When you select a resource from the explorer you are taken to a new page with three tabs:

  1. Sharing
  2. Schedule
  3. Details

From this screen you are able to add the resource to either a user or a group by entering the relevant email address into this box:

You are also able to customize the sharing settings for each resource on the bottom of this page. Each resource has multiple sharing settings:

    • Make calendars private
      • Note: If a resource is private, users will be unable to book or view it in Google Calendar.
    • Share with ______@domain.com - Make the resource available only to those users on your domain
      • Show only free/busy - Show the resource to those on your domain but restrict it to either busy or free.
      • Show full event details - Show the resource and all event details but keep it restricted to users on your domain.
    • Share with public - Allow the resource to be shared externally to people outside of your domain.
      • Show only free/busy - Allow the resource to be shared externally but restrict it to either busy or free.
      • Show full event details - Allow the resource to be shared externally and allow all event information to be shared as well.

Schedule

Once you select the Schedule tab you can see which times the resource is going to be occupied in the next four calendar days. This screen will detail the time and title of each event scheduled

The Details tab lists out the following information for the resource:

  • Delete this resource
  • Email - This is a unique identifer for each resource, similar to an email for a user.
  • Resource Type - You are able to select from a Conference Room, Office Projector, Vehicle, Common Area, Camera and Other (see below).
  • Name - A name for the resource similar to below as it lists “Board Room.”
  • Description - Use this to create a detailed description of the resource.

Google Related Article

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request