Drive

Follow

Contents

Google Drive houses all of the files owned by your domain, including Docs, Spreadsheets, Presentations, and other file formats. For the safety of your domain's data, it's important to control how the items contained in Drive are shared with other users (both internal and external) and their level of exposure to the rest of the world.

Using BetterCloud, admins can drill down into their domain's Google Drive data with various useful filters, view documents created outside of the domain and shared with users within your environment, and view ongoing policy and one-time audit results. Admins can transfer doc ownership and add or remove collaborators on individual documents, as well as on hundreds of documents at once. All actions are recorded in audit logs for compliance purposes.

Drive Audit

The Drive Audit section of BetterCloud is a powerful tool that allows you to search and filter through every single doc in your domain's Google Drive.

  1. Filter your search by multiple criteria:
    •  Owned by User- Allows you to filter results to display only items that are owned by a certain user
    •  Owned by Org Unit- Allows you to filter results to display only items that are owned by a certain Org Unit
    •  Doc Title- Allows you to filter results to display items with a certain title
    •  Shared With- Allows you to filter results to display only items that are shared with a certain email or domain
    •  Exposure- Allows you to filter results to display only items with a certain exposure level (Public, Public with a link, External, Only Domain, Only Domain with link, Private)
    •  Last Updated- Allows you to filter results to display only items that were updated within a certain time frame (< 1 month, 1-3 month, 3-6 months, > 6 months)
    •  File Extension- Allows you to filter results to only display items with a certain file extension (.exe, .pdf, .jpg, .txt, etc.)
    •  Violation- Allows you to filter results to only display items that are violating a Sharing Policy. You can adjust this filter to only show items that are Flagged as a violation, Marked as an exception, Auto-Corrected, or are Requesting an exception
    •  Policy/Audit Name- Allows you to filter results to only display items caught by a specific Drive Sharing Policy
  2. View doc title, owner, size, number of viewers, date of last update, status:
    •  Public- Anyone in the world can view this doc at anytime.
    •  Public with a link- Anyone in the world can view this doc as long as they were sent a link to the doc, however the doc cannot be found by those without a direct link.
    •  External- Parties outside your domain may be added as viewers by an existing owner or collaborator and can then view the doc. These external parties may not edit the doc unless they are added as a collaborator.
    •  Only Domain- Everyone within your domain can view the doc, no one outside of the domain can view the doc.
    •  Only Domain with link- Everyone within your domain can view the doc as long as they were provided a link, no one outside of the domain can view the doc even if they are provided a link.
    •  Private- No one besides those directly added by the owner of the doc can view the doc.
    •  Flagged as violation- The item has violated a Sharing Policy.
    •  Marked as exception- The item violates a Sharing Policy, but you have allowed this item to be an exception to the Sharing Policy it violates.
    •  Changed by policy- The item violated a Sharing Policy but was automatically corrected by the policy's action settings, and no longer violates that Sharing Policy.
    •  Requested exception- The item violates a Sharing Policy but the owner has requested an exception to the policy.
    •  Flagged for review- A policy in Audit Mode has flagged this document for review.
    •     Shared with a Group- The item is shared with a specific group for viewing.
  3. Export Drive to a spreadsheet*
    • A spreadsheet will appear in your Google Drive account, and allow you to view the Creation Date, Title, Owner Email, Owner’s Org Unit, Document Size, Resource ID (identification code specific to that item), Document Type, Last Updated Date, Last Viewed Date, and the item’s level of Exposure for all the items contained within your domain’s Google Drive. 
      *Note: This does NOT export the actual documents to a spreadsheet. It exports all the information about the documents that are viewable in Drive Audit to a spreadsheet.
  4. Edit Permissions
    • Change Owners- You may have multiple owners of a doc. Owners have the ability to add collaborators to a doc (and viewers, if doc is private). The document will appear to the owner in a folder that will specify who it was previously owned by.
      Note: If you would like to transfer ownership of a folder, you will need to transfer the individual files as well.
    • Add/Remove Collaborators- Collaborators can edit the contents of a doc, whereas a viewer may only view the contents. Collaborators cannot add other collaborators unless they are also an owner of the doc.
    • Change Sharing Settings- Sharing Settings are used for stating who can view each doc (see #2 above.)
  5. Set Alerts and Exceptions to Drive Sharing Policies (see #2 for explanation of exceptions)
  6. Mark a violation alert as read or unread.

Individual Doc View

By clicking the title of a doc from your Drive Audit list and navigating into an individual doc's profile page, you can view many of the details relating to that doc alone. (Google Apps > Drive > Audit > "Doc Title")

From this page you are able to:

    1. Preview and edit the doc.
    2. View/Edit the Sharing Settings of the doc:
      • Add individuals, domains, and groups as Editors, Owners, or Viewers
      • Change Sharing Status
        •  Public
        •  Public with a link
        •  External
        •  Only Domain
        •  Only Domain with link
        •  Private
    3. View when the doc was Last Updated and if the doc is violating any policies.
    4. View the Audit History of the doc, which will show you changes that have been made to the doc including the date of the change, the user that made the change, and a description of the nature of the change.

Drive Sharing Policies

Drive Sharing policies in BetterCloud offer a way to automate your management and enforcement of how different documents within the domain are shared, both internally and externally. View the article on Drive Sharing Policies to learn how to set your own policies.

Externally Owned Docs

The Externally Owned Docs tab allows you to view and search through documents have been shared with members of your organization, from an external organization or user.

You cannot view or edit the sharing settings for any externally owned documents because they are not owned by your domain.

However, you may export these records to a Spreadsheet to view the Title, Owner, and Domain of all of the externally owned docs shared with your domain.

I can't find a doc that is on my domain!

For domains with no Drive Sharing Policies created, Drive Syncs will run automatically on your domain once per week, to scan every doc on your domain and add new items and updates. Documents created since the time of your domain's last sync will need to wait for the next one, before they will appear in Drive Audit.

However, if you have a Policy running on your domain, new and updated documents should sync into Drive Audit roughly 30 minutes after these changes are saved in Google Drive.

 

Requirements

Enable BetterCloud for all users

For Drive Audit to sync in all docs from your domain, BetterCloud must be turned on for the entire domain, and data access must be granted:

  1. In the Google Admin Console, navigate to Apps > MarketPlace Apps
  2. Ensure that BetterCloud is listed as "ON for everyone", and then click on the app's listing > Data Access.

Public Docs

Due to an API limitation, Public sharing must be enabled in the Admin Console, in order to change the sharing settings of Public docs using BetterCloud. To enable Public sharing:

  1. In the Google Admin Console, navigate to Apps > G Suite > Drive and Docs > Sharing settings
  2. Verify that 'Allow users in domain.com to publish files on the web or make them visible to the world as public or unlisted files' is selected.

Note: Updating this setting can take up to 24 hours to propagate to all users. If you are changing sharing settings using a Policy, please edit and re-run after 24 hours.

Google Related Article

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request