**This article is referring to 'Classic Sites'. For managing 'new' Sites, which are considered Drive files, please refer to the Drive documentation here
BetterCloud is designed to present your entire domain to you in an easier to navigate and easier to manage way. The Sites function in BetterCloud enables you to view and change the exposure of Google Sites that were created on your domain.
From this page, you can change the owners, collaborators, and sharing settings of a single Site or multiple Sites at a time.
You can also export all of the Sites to a spreadsheet view, which displays the Title, Owners Emails, Last Updated Date, Exposure, Categories, and Template used.
On the Sites page you can,
- View the number/percentage of Sites on your domain that are exposed Publicly as well as those that are exposed Externally.
- Sites that are exposed Publicly can be viewed by anyone.
- Sites that are exposed Externally can be viewed outside the Domain but only by specific external viewers that were chosen by the owner(s) of the Site
- All Publicly exposed Sites are also exposed Externally
- View when each site was last updated in chart form
If you can not view these charts, click this drop down arrow
- Filter Sites by multiple criteria to more easily find what you are looking for
- Export Sites to Spreadsheet
- Displays the Title, Owners Emails, Last Updated Date, Exposure, Categories, as well as the Template used for the Site.
- Edit the permissions of specific Sites
- Edit the permissions of specific Sites
- Change Owners - You may have multiple owners of a Site. Owners have the ability to add collaborators to a Site (and viewers if Site is private).
- Add/Remove Collaborators - Collaborators can edit the content of a Site, where as a viewer may only view the content. Collaborators cannot add other collaborators unless they are also an owner of the Site.
- Change Sharing Settings - Sharing Settings are used for setting who can view each Site. See 6.) for a full key of different Sharing Settings.
- View the Title, Owners, Date of last update, and Status of each site.
- Public - Anyone on the Internet can find and access the Site.
- Public with a link - It’s an unlisted Site that’s not likely to show up in search results, but it is accessible to anyone on the Internet who knows the link
- External - Users can invite people outside the organization to view and edit their Site.
- Only Domain - Site created in your organization are searchable and viewable to everyone in your organization.
- Only Domain with link - Anyone in your organization can access the document, but only if they know the URL. This is like an unlisted phone number where only people who know your number can call you.
- Private - Sites aren’t accessible to anyone other than the owner and the people to whom the owner explicitly gives access.
Individual Site View
By clicking into an individual Site you can view many of the details relating to only that Site. You can find an individual site's page by navigating in BetterCloud to Google Apps >Sites > Sites Audit >”Site Name”.
From this page you are able to:
- View the Google Site. This will take you to the domain, so you can view the Site.
- View/Edit the Sharing Settings of the Site
- Public with a link
- Only Domain
- Only Domain with a link
- View when the Site was Last Updated and who updated it as well as a graph displaying the number of updates as a function of time.
- View and Audit History of the Site, which will show you changes that have been made to the Site including the date of the change, the user that made the change, and a description of the nature of the change.
- View Site Pages
- Change permissions on an individual page level. This will take you to the Google Site editor (outside of BetterCloud) where you will be able to make changes to the Site.
Example: You may allow the entire domain to view the homepage of your company’s intranet but you may allow only those in HR to view the page that displays requests for time off.
Important / Requirements
To ensure that your users can view, create and edit sites, please navigate to the Google Admin Console and confirm that the following selections are enabled in your Google Admin Console:
Apps > G Suite > Sharing for Sites > Sharing settings - classic Sites > "Users can create and edit Sites":