Deprovision Users

Follow

Contents

  1. Choose who you will Deprovision
  2. Begin Deprovision Process
  3. Add Account Executor
  4. Directory Listing
  5. Change Password
  6. Auto Reply
  7. Email Delegates
  8. Drive, Sites, Calendars
  9. Group Ownership / Membership
  10. My Checklist
  11. Archiving
  12. Suspend
  13. Wrap-up

Deprovision User is a wizard that guides you through the necessary steps to ensure that you have not overlooked any steps when deprovisioning and deleting a user on your domain. It will help you address important parts of the process like passwords, email delegation, asset ownership, groups membership, as well as customizable personal checklists.

Currently, the process of deprovisioning a user is not currently an easy or organized process offered in the Google Control Panel. We've made this process easy to follow and it ensures that no tasks are left behind. This process is best started at the time when it is decided that you are going to delete a user account. This can be done days, weeks, or months in advance.

Deprovisioning a user includes all the important steps necessary on the path to deleting a user. You can find the deprovision user tool under the tools menu

Step 1: Choose who to Deprovision

After clicking “Deprovision User” you will be prompted to enter the name of the user you would like to deprovision

Step 2: Begin Deprovision Process

Next, you will be prompted to begin the Deprovisioning Process

Step 3: Add Account Executor

The executor will be the user who retains ownership of all that is owned by the deprovisioned user. You may also choose a user to receive email updates on the deprovision process.

Step 4: Directory Listing

Do you want to hide this user in the directory so other users can not see their contact information?

Step 5: Change Password

Would you like to reset the users password to prevent them from logging into their account?

Step 6: Auto Reply

Would you like to set up an auto reply for when this user is emailed to let others know that the user is no longer with the organization?

Step 7: Email Delegates

Under the Auto Reply tab, there is a tab that allows you delegate the deprovisioned user's inbox to another user.

Step 8: Drive, Sites, Calendars, and Apps

This allows you to transfer ownership of the user’s Drive, Sites, and Calendars and revoke any third party apps and app specific passwords.

Step 9: Group Ownership and Membership

This allows you to transfer their group ownership and/or memberships to other users.

Step 10: My Checklist

Is a customizable checklist that is specific to your company to ensure you have taken all the necessary steps outside of BetterCloud for terminating a user such as retrieving any company property.

Step 11: Archiving

You are given the option to archive the user’s account using a free external tool called Google Takeout. Other external archiving services, such as Google Vault and Backupify, are also available for purchase through their own sites.

 

Step 12: Suspend

You are given the option to either suspend the user’s account or keep it active for the time being.

Note: You must wait until all transfers of ownership of Docs, Sites, Calendars, and Groups has been completed before suspending the user or else the transfers will not complete.

Step 13: Wrap-up

Here you will be able to review all the previous steps in the deprovisioning process and either delete the user account or set a calendar reminder for yourself to delete the user account at some point in the future.

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request