Hide/Show Users in Company Directory

Follow

Contents

By default, the G Suite Directory is enabled for your domain. This allows users in your domain to find people listed in the Directory through the Contacts search, Contacts details view, and any autocomplete function enabled for your domain. As an admin, you can change the contact sharing settings to exclude certain types of email addresses, like nicknames, or hide individual users from the G Suite Directory.

In BetterCloud

To Hide users from the Directory:

  1. Navigate to Directory > Users> Explore, click on the user name you would like to show/hide
  2. Under Status, hover over Viewable in the company directory
  3. Click Hide User
  4. Click Yes, Proceed

To Show Users in the Directory:

  1. From the list of Users, click the name you would like to show/hide
  2. Under Status, hover over Hidden in the company directory
  3. Click Show User
  4. Click Yes, Proceed

In the Google Admin Console

The same action can be completed by following these instructions:

  1. Navigate to the Admin Console, and click "Users" on your dashboard.
  2. From the list of Users, click the name you would like to exclude from Contact Sharing.
  3. Under User information, uncheck Contact sharing.
  4. Click Save changes.

It can take up to 24 hours for any change to appear in the G Suite Directory.

 

Google Related Article

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request