Workflows Error Message: Transfer Group Ownership

Follow

Contents

If you received the following error message in response to your workflow, this article can help you troubleshoot possible causes:   

"Why it failed:

This action may have failed for one of the following reasons: Google Groups for Business Disabled; Group no longer exists; User deleted or suspended; BetterCloud out of sync.

Our suggestion:

Please check if: (1) Google Groups for Business is disabled for your domain (it can be enabled here: https://admin.google.com/AdminHome?fral=1#AppDetails:service=google+groups+for+business) (2) User has been suspended (3) User has been deleted - Please note - a directory sync may be necessary to address this failure. Learn how to initiate syncs for your domain here: https://support.bettercloud.com/hc/en-us/articles/477053-Sync"

In this case, the action in your workflow may have failed for one of following reasons: Google Groups for Business may be disabled for your domain, the user in question may be suspended or may no longer exist, and/or BetterCloud may be out of sync with your Google data. For troubleshooting each of these items, please read on below. 

Google Groups for Business is Disabled

To confirm that Google Groups for Business is enabled for your domain, navigate to admin.google.com > Apps > G Suite. Locate the 'three dot' icon next to the listing for Google Groups for Business, and select "ON for everyone".



User is Suspended or No Longer Exists

To confirm that the user affected by your workflow currently exists on your domain in an active state, please utilize the search bar at the top of your BetterCloud window; active user names will auto-populate a selection, and direct you to the appropriate profile page. 

You may also survey all users by navigating to Directory > Users > Explore.



When viewing your user's profile page, current account status is displayed on the right side of the page. Account status can be changed by hovering over this icon, or by selecting "Suspend/Restore User" on the left side of the page.



If this user has been deleted and is not visible in BetterCloud, they can be restored within five days of their deletion date only within the Admin Console

Sync is Necessary

When directory data is updated in the Google Admin Console, a sync will be necessary to update your domain's records in BetterCloud. Syncs can also be used to resolve any other discrepancies in your directory, between BetterCloud and the Admin Console. 

Click here to see how to start a manual sync, and schedule automated syncs for your domain, to keep your records in parity. 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request