Workflows Error Message: Rename Primary Email Address

Follow

Contents

If you received the following error message in response to your workflow, this article can help you troubleshoot possible causes: 

"Why it failed:

This action may have failed for one of the following reasons: User no longer exists; New email address is already in use; New email address invalid (such as non-existent subdomain or alias)..

Our suggestion:

Please check if: (1) The new alias is already in use (2) User has been deleted (3) New email address is valid."

In this case, the action in your workflow may have failed for one of following reasons: the user in question may no longer exist on your domain (has already been deleted), or the email address specified in your workflow is either invalid or already in use. For troubleshooting each of these items, please read on below. 

User No Longer Exists

To confirm that the user affected by your workflow currently exists in an active state on your domain, please utilize the search bar at the top of your BetterCloud window; existing user names will auto-populate a selection, and direct you to the appropriate profile page. 

You may also survey all users by navigating to Directory > Users > Explore. 



If you cannot find your user in BetterCloud, he or she may have already been deleted. If so, you can view recently deleted users (and restore them, if necessary) for up to five days after their deletion date in the Admin Console. Please see: Restore a Recently Deleted User

If you see any discrepancies in your directory in BetterCloud vs the Admin Console, you can run a sync to resolve them.

Email Address is Already In Use

To view any ways in which the email address specified in your workflow could already be in use (including in use as an alias), navigate to admin.google.com and use the search bar at the top of the page to search for the email address in question. 

 

Email Address is Invalid

To view your domain's primary, subdomain and domain alias addresses, to ensure that the email address specified in your workflow is valid, navigate to  admin.google.com > Domains > Add/remove domains. 



Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request