Workflows Error Message: Remove User from Group

Follow

Contents

If you received the following error message in response to your workflow, this article can help you troubleshoot possible causes: 

"Why it failed:

This action may have failed for one of the following reasons: Google Groups for Business is disabled; User is deleted or suspended; Group contains all members on domain.

Our suggestion:

Please check If: (1) Google Groups for Business is Disabled (2) User is not in the group (3) User has already been deleted (4) Group contains all members in the domain ."

In this case, the action in your workflow may have failed for one of following reasons: Google Groups for Business may be disabled for your domain, the user in question no longer exists or is not a member of this group, or the group may contain the "all users in the domain" membership entity. For troubleshooting each of these items, please read on below. 

Google Groups for Business is Disabled

To confirm that Google Groups for Business is enabled for your domain, navigate to admin.google.com > Apps > G Suite. Locate the 'three dot' icon next to the listing for Google Groups for Business, and select "ON for everyone".



User No Longer Exists / Not a Group Member

To confirm that the user affected by your workflow currently exists on your domain and is a member of the group in question, please utilize the search bar at the top of your BetterCloud window; active user names will auto-populate a selection, and direct you to the appropriate profile page. 

 You may also survey all users by navigating to Directory > Users > Explore. 



When viewing your user's profile page, current account status is displayed on the right side of the page. Account status can be changed by hovering over this icon, or by selecting "Suspend/Restore User" on the left side of the page. Group membership is displayed in the center of the page.



If this user has been deleted and is not visible in BetterCloud, they can be restored within five days of their deletion date only within the Admin Console

All Users in the Domain are Members

If all users were added as members of this group using the single "all users in the domain" membership entity, individual users will not be able to be removed from this group.

You can view this group's membership list by navigating to its profile page and clicking on the membership count in the top left corner. If the "all users in the domain" entity was used to populate membership for this group, this entity will need to be removed and replaced with individual user additions, before users can be removed individually. 

Please see how to add group members here.



 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request