Workflows Error Message: Delete Email Aliases

Follow

Contents

If you received the following error message in response to your workflow, this article can help you troubleshoot possible causes:  

"Why it failed:

This action may have failed for one of the following reasons: Email alias is a domain alias; User deleted or suspended; Alias is used as a send-as alias (or other service).

Our suggestion:

Please check if: (1) the email alias is not a domain alias (2) user is not suspended."

In this case, the action in your workflow may have failed for one of following reasons: the user in question has been suspended or may no longer exist on your domain (has already been deleted), or this user's email aliases are in required use by a send-as alias or a domain alias. For troubleshooting each of these items, please read on below.

User is Suspended or No Longer Exists

To confirm that the user affected by your workflow currently exists in an active state on your domain, please utilize the search bar at the top of your BetterCloud window; existing user names will auto-populate a selection, and direct you to the appropriate profile page. 

You may also survey all users by navigating to Directory > Users > Explore. 



On your user's profile page, you can view current account status on the right side. Hovering over the status icon will provide you with an option to change this status; you can also select "Suspend/Restore User" from the options on the left side of the page.



If you cannot find your user in BetterCloud, he or she may have already been deleted. If so, you can view recently deleted users (and restore them, if necessary) for up to five days after their deletion date in the Admin Console. Please see: Restore a Recently Deleted User

If you see any discrepancies in your directory in BetterCloud vs the Admin Console, you can run a sync to resolve them.

Alias in Use as Send-As Alias

Existing send-as aliases can be viewed for your user by navigating to his profile page in BetterCloud (see screenshots above) and selecting "Email Tools", followed by "Send-as alias" on the left side of the page. 



Send-as aliases require the usage of active email address on your domain; if your user has any send-as aliases that make use of his own email aliases, these send-as aliases will need to be deleted, before the email aliases can also be deleted.

Alias in Use as Domain Alias

To view your domain's existing domain aliases, navigate to admin.google.com > Domains > Add/remove domains. 



When a domain alias is created on your domain, it is Google's native behavior that  matching email aliases are then generated for all active users on your domain. These email aliases cannot be deleted, unless the domain alias itself is removed from the Admin Console.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request