Workflows Error Message: Assign License

Follow

Contents

If you received the following error message in response to your workflow, this article can help you troubleshoot possible causes:  

"Why it failed:

This action may have failed for one of the following reasons: Free license was not available; User deleted or suspended; User already has license assigned.

Our suggestion:

Please check if: (1) There are available licenses for the type you are trying to assign (2) User is not suspended or deleted outside of BetterCloud (3) User does not already have the license type you are trying to assign."

In this case, the action in your workflow may have failed for one of following reasons: the user in question may be suspended or no longer exists on your domain (has already been deleted), the user may already have been assigned the license type named in your workflow, or you do not currently have this license type available for use. For troubleshooting each of these items, please read on below. 

User is Suspended or No Longer Exists

If your user has been assigned a G Suite license, and is currently in an active or suspended state, he or she will appear in BetterCloud's directory.

To locate your user, please utilize the search bar at the top of your BetterCloud window; existing user names will auto-populate a selection, and direct you to the appropriate profile page. 

You may also survey all users by navigating to Directory > Users > Explore. 



On your user's profile page, you can view current account status on the right side. Hovering over the status icon will provide you with an option to change this status; you can also select "Suspend/Restore User" from the options on the left side of the page.



If you cannot find your user in BetterCloud, he or she may have already been deleted. If so, you can view recently deleted users (and restore them, if necessary) for up to five days after their deletion date in the Admin Console. Please see: Restore a Recently Deleted User

If you see any discrepancies in your directory in BetterCloud vs the Admin Console, you can run a sync to resolve them.

User is Already Assigned License

If your user has been assigned a G Suite license, and is currently in an active or suspended state, he or she will appear in BetterCloud's directory. The easiest way to check on this is to follow the steps listed in the item above.

If your user has not yet been assigned a G Suite license, or is currently assigned another type of license, you may view your user's license status and type by navigating to admin.google.com > Users > [User in question] > License.



License Not Available

To view your domain's current collection of available licenses, navigate to admin.google.com > Billing. Additional licenses may need to be purchased either through Google or an approved reseller, depending on who your domain currently contracts with.



Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request