Workflows Error Message: Monitor User's Email

Follow

Contents

If you received the following error message in response to your workflow, this article can help you troubleshoot possible causes: 

"Why it failed:

This action may have failed for one of the following reasons: User already being monitored; User deleted or suspended; Dates outside of acceptable range; Gmail service is disabled for user; Account is on free version of Google Apps.

Our suggestion:

Please check If: (1) The monitor pairing already exists (2) Set dates are outside of acceptable range (3) User has already been deleted (4) User is suspended (5) Gmail is disabled in the Admin Console (6) If you're using the Free Version of Google Apps."

In this case, the action in your workflow may have failed for one of following reasons: the user in question has been suspended or may no longer exist on your domain (has already been deleted), the user in question is already being monitored, Gmail may be disabled for this user's org unit, or your domain is on a version of G Suite that doesn't support monitoring. For troubleshooting each of these items, please read on below.

User is Suspended or No Longer Exists

To confirm that the user affected by your workflow currently exists in an active state on your domain, please utilize the search bar at the top of your BetterCloud window; existing user names will auto-populate a selection, and direct you to the appropriate profile page. 

You may also survey all users by navigating to Directory > Users > Explore. 



On your user's profile page, you can view current account status on the right side. Hovering over the status icon will provide you with an option to change this status; you can also select "Suspend/Restore User" from the options on the left side of the page.



If you cannot find your user in BetterCloud, he or she may have already been deleted. If so, you can view recently deleted users (and restore them, if necessary) for up to five days after their deletion date in the Admin Console. Please see: Restore a Recently Deleted User

If you see any discrepancies in your directory in BetterCloud vs the Admin Console, you can run a sync to resolve them.

User is Already Being Monitored

To view your domain's monitor pairings that are currently active, navigate to Tools > Gmail > Monitoring. You will see a list of all active pairings, and can filter for a particular user's name by utilizing the filtering options at the top of the list.



Gmail Disabled For User's Org Unit

To confirm that Gmail is enabled for this user's org unit, navigate to admin.google.com > Apps > G Suite. Locate the 'three dot' icon next to the listing for Gmail, and select either "ON for everyone", or ensure that the appropriate org unit is included among the org units for which Gmail is enabled.



G Suite Edition Does Not Support Monitoring

If your domain currently utilizes the legacy free edition of Google Apps, monitoring is not a service that is included in this edition. 

To view your domain's edition of G Suite, navigate to admin.google.com > Billing. 



Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request