Workflows Error Message: Change Role in Group

Follow

Contents

If you received the following error message in response to your workflow, this article can help you troubleshoot possible causes: 

"Why it failed:

This action may have failed for one of the following reasons: Google Groups for Business may be disabled; User already in role.

Our suggestion:

Please check if: (1) Google Groups for Business is enabled (2) User does not already have the role assigned (3) Domain is recently synced."

In this case, the action in your workflow may have failed for one of following reasons: Google Groups for Business may be disabled for your domain, the user in question already exists in the designated group role, or BetterCloud may be out of sync with your Google data. For troubleshooting each of these items, please read on below. 

Google Groups for Business is Disabled

To confirm that Google Groups for Business is enabled for your domain, navigate to admin.google.com > Apps > G Suite. Locate the 'three dot' icon next to the listing for Google Groups for Business, and select "ON for everyone".

User Already Exists in Role

To confirm that the user affected by your workflow does not already inhabit the role in the group stated in your workflow, please review the group's user list by navigating to the group's profile page in BetterCloud, and selecting "Users" in the center of the page. 



Sync is Necessary

When directory data is updated in the Google Admin Console, a sync will be necessary to update your domain's records in BetterCloud. Syncs can also be used to resolve any other discrepancies in your directory, between BetterCloud and the Admin Console. 

Click here to see how to start a manual sync, and schedule automated syncs for your domain, to keep your records in parity. 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request