Workflows Error Message: Add User to Group

Follow

Contents

Please note: BetterCloud is currently investigating an issue in Google that may cause group membership additions to fail. For more information please see here.

If you received the following error message in response to your workflow, this article can help you troubleshoot possible causes:

"Why it failed:

This action may have failed for one of following reasons: Google Groups for Business may be disabled; API error occurred; User/Group no longer exists; BetterCloud is out of sync.

Our suggestion:

Please check if: (1) Google Groups for Business is enabled in the Admin Console: https://support.google.com/a/answer/167096?hl=en (2) User is not already a member of the group (3) User or Group has not been deleted outside of BetterCloud (4) Directory is recently synced in BetterCloud."

In this case, the action in your workflow may have failed for one of following reasons: Google Groups for Business may be disabled for your domain, the user or group in question no longer exists, the user is already a member of the group, or BetterCloud may be out of sync with your Google data. For troubleshooting each of these items, please read on below. 

Google Groups for Business is Disabled

To confirm that Google Groups for Business is enabled for your domain, navigate to admin.google.com > Apps > G Suite. Locate the 'three dot' icon next to the listing for Google Groups for Business, and select "ON for everyone".



User or Group No Longer Exists

To confirm that both the user and group affected by your workflow currently exist on your domain, please utilize the search bar at the top of your BetterCloud window; active user and group names will auto-populate a selection, and direct you to the appropriate profile page. 

 You may also survey all users or groups by navigating to Directory > Users > Explore, or Directory > Groups > Explore. 



If you see any discrepancies in your directory in BetterCloud vs the Admin Console, you can run a sync to resolve them. 

User is a Group Member

To confirm that the user affected by your workflow is not already a member of the group stated in your workflow, please review the group's membership list by navigating to the group's profile page in BetterCloud, and selecting "Users" in the center of the page. 



Sync is Necessary

When directory data is updated in the Google Admin Console, a sync will be necessary to update your domain's records in BetterCloud. Syncs can also be used to resolve any other discrepancies in your directory, between BetterCloud and the Admin Console. 

Click here to see how to start a manual sync, and schedule automated syncs for your domain, to keep your records in parity. 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request