Inherited Permissions

Follow

If a targeted Dropbox document has both inherited and direct external collaborators, the “Remove All External File/Folder Collaborators” action will be considered successful when all direct permissions have been removed, even if inherited permissions remain. To remove inherited permissions from a Dropbox document, they must be removed from the parent folder.

When a Dropbox folder is shared with a collaborator, the collaborator automatically inherits permissions to that folder’s contents. BetterCloud’s “Remove All External File Collaborators” and “Remove All External Folder Collaborators” actions only remove collaborators that have been directly granted access to the targeted document. If a collaborator has inherited access to the targeted document because they were granted direct access to that document’s parent folder, they will not be removed.Image_2020-12-14_at_8.39.24_PM.jpg

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request